Logo GVT

Symposium Nano-structure in disperse systems: production, characterization and functionality

12.  - 13. November 2012




Nano-structure in disperse systems: production, characterization and functionality

Karlsruhe (Germany), 12-13 November 2012

Symposium information / Programme




Symposium organiser: Dr.- Ing. K. Köhler

This Symposium is intended to provide a brief survey of the possibilities for the nano-structuring of disperse systems, the current state of the art for the characterization of these and their functionality. The intention of the meeting is to bring researchers from various backgrounds together, using various methods for the synthesis  and characterization based on gas-phase and liquid phase, and to commonly focus on the obtainable structures and their functionality, thus broadening the view of the individual researchers who are often caught within their own methodology. Invited oral presentations will be supplemented by a strong poster program to encourage discussions and to foster potential future collaborations.

The symposium is organized by Karsten Köhler and Martin Seipenbusch of the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) and will be held at the Max-Rubner-Institute (MRI) in Karlsruhe.


  1. Rainer Adelung, Christian-Albrechts-Universität zu Kiel, Germany
  2. Cyril Aymonier, Institut de Chimie de la Matière Condensée de Bordeaux, CNRS, France: "Design of advanced nanostructured materials using supercritical fluids"
  3. Andreas Bräuer, Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg, Germany: "Raman techniques as in situ measurement tools in process technology for particle generation"
  4. Robert Grass, Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule ETH Zürich, Switzerland: "Gas phase derived magnetic nanoparticles on the road from lab to market"
  5. Andreas Håkansson Lund University, Sweden: "Understanding Emulsification through Hydrodynamics and Modelling"
  6. Gerhard Kasper, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany: "Aerosol based processes for advanced materials and systems"
  7. Robin N. Klupp Taylor Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg, Germany: "Liquid phase heterogeneous nucleation for the synthesis of Janus and patchy particles"
  8. Thomas Kraska, Universität zu Köln, Germany: "Atomistic simulation of nano particle formation in the gas phase"
  9. Maria Messing, Lund University, Sweden: "Engineered nanoparticles by spark discharge"
  10. Michele Ostraat, RTI International, USA: "Tuning optical characteristics of nanocomposites and nanofiber-based heterostructures"
  11. Mohan Sankaran, Case Western Reserve University, USA: "Continuous-flow, atmospheric-pressure microplasmas: A novel platform for aerosol synthesis"
  12. Heike Schuchmann, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany: "Miniemulsion -based processes as platform for nanostructuring particles"
  13. Andreas Voigt, Otto von Guericke-Universität Magdeburg, Germany: "Emulsion-based production of nanoparticles: Improving understanding by models and experiments"
  14. Maria Paulis, The University of the Basque Country, Spain



zur Übersicht

Für weitere Informationen und Rückfragen kontaktieren Sie bitte


Frau Khadija Belaasri
Tel.: 069 7564-269